yesterdays blog.

May 12, 2011

So I apologize if the blog yesterday was kind of all over the place.  I was sooo tired and it took about two hours to upload photos-I didn’t even proof read but just wanted to get it posted by the time I went to bed. 🙂  I wanted to explain the pictures I posted really quick.  The First few are just some randoms..the huts, which are common to see here, and then the boy in school, which is where I was observing yesterday.  The last two are the ones I wanted to point out.  The third one down, under the little boy counting, is actually a huge river that is dried up.  You can see someone walking in the middle of it.  Beyond the river is the first market we went to, which stretches the length of the photo.  It was HUGE as I said before.  In the last photo I tried to capture the amount of trash here, but the photo hardly does it justice.  You can see it pretty much on the ground in a huge field in the photo….I will try to snap more later.  The waste management here is not the best as you can see and currently trash is burned as a way to get rid of it.  I can’t imagine what it is doing to the air with all the plastic and Styrofoam used here…

And lastly, I wanted to post this photo yesterday but it was taking too long…here is one with me and one of the boys from the orphanage.  His name is Moses, and he was probably the sweetest little boy I have ever encountered.  I walked in to the home and he literally walked up to me and gave me a hug, then proceeded to follow us around the whole time. Sweetie.

3 Responses to “yesterdays blog.”

  1. Mom said

    What a great experience. Please stay safe. Can’t wait to see the dresses. Love you, Mom

  2. DAD said

    Lauren, It’s great that you get to experience something few of us will ever get a chance to
    see in our lifetime. I’m looking forward to seeing
    you in the traditional Hausa Dress.

    Love, DAD

  3. Claudia said

    Lauren,
    thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I can’t wait to show Nik the pictures tomorrow (he’s sleeping now). What a fantastic experience. Can’t wait to read/see more.

    Take care,
    Claudia (and Nik)

Leave a Reply

