Goodbye Nigeria

May 20, 2011

So, my Nigerian adventure has unfortunately come to an end. I have made great progress on my research but am also extremely sad to leave. Yola has been a great experience and has widened my view of the developing world even further. I am so grateful to all of the people here who have opened their hearts, lives, and homes.

Here are a few photos from the Jimenta Market. The picture of the “vegetables” ie.) cabbage, yams, cucumber, and potatoes, had to be taken considering this was pretty much what my diet consisted of for two weeks, oh, and also meat. I am ready for a huge green salad and no starches for days!

A funny story I forgot to write about. Yesterday, our last day at the market, I was perusing around and tripped on a piece of wood (not surprising on my behalf) and my sandal broke. These are my favorite pair of sandals too, and I guess I had been waiting for the time when they would eventually wear out. I was just bummed because not only had we just gotten to the market, but also because I did not want to be walking around barefoot…especially in this market. There are stands in the market who sale, what looks like used, flip flops for a decent price.. But I had a hard time deciding whether or not to buy them because I knew I would be home an hour later where I had another pair. However, I decided I just could not hobble around on the dirty ground, so we started looking for a stand that sold slippers. About 2 minutes in to our search, I am with 2 friends, a little boy taps me and points in the direction we had just come from. Down one of the alleys in the market I see a man waving to me and thinking he has sandals head his way…he has obviously seen my situation as I hobbled along. I Get over to him and all of a sudden my shoe has been taken off of my foot and is in the process of being repaired. Only in Nigeria, right?! I ended up paying maybe a dollar for him to fix it…and he did an excellent job in only about 2 minutes. It was amazing. I am guessing I would have paid at least 20 dollars in the US to get them fixed…they are pretty good leather. In fact, I probably would have just left them behind when I left. Such a great story. 🙂

Both these photos were taken from the local “bar,” which is outside and called the FireHouse. These boys play soccer here everyday and are REALLY good–they need to send some scouts out to Yola.
can you see the goal post?
Also, you put your beer/drink down here for 1 minute, this is what happens:
yummy

Here is a photo after our goodbye dinner last night. We had some locals come to the dinner, all who had helped with our research and site visits these last two weeks. They range from teachers, librarians, doctors, politicians, and HIV/AIDS educators. It was great to sit down with them and hear all of their perspectives on the problems in their country–probably one of the best discussions I have been a part of in a long time. All of these people do amazing things and are amazing people-I will miss them greatly.
This is me and Jess in our Hausa Skirts

Thanks for reading everyone–even though I haven’t responded to comments, I get and appreciate them all. It really is my only connection to reality–as being in Nigeria really feels far from it. Until my next adventure (thinking India/Nepal/South America) Goodbye for now!

now for a 32 hour trip home….

2 Responses to “Goodbye Nigeria”

  1. Annoushka said

    Hi Would have been nice if u pasted more pics of Yola highlands and Jimeta. I was there last year and recently for a visit and actually liked it. The market did sell fruits and veggies and is actually cleaner and organized than Kano Market. I guessed you stayed at The American University…would have been nice as well if you added that experience. To be honest I didnt have my drink swarming with flies as you pasted, but maybe cause you chose a local road side shop which in a mismanaged area. Having a drink at a pool side bar definitely does not have same results. Any ways hope your next Nigerian destination will be impressive. thank you for sharing.
    Anna

  2. I stumbled across your blog through the AUN website.
    I’m a Senior majoring in Information Systems in AUN and Jessica Pine had told me about you guys coming to campus. As you know it was Summer school and I was busy with school work
    (coupled with extra-curricular activities), I did not get to see you guys very much. I have gone though all your posts and I’m glad you experienced all this first-hand. I envy you because I’ve not been to Yankari yet. Also, from your pictures, I see you met Martha Speirs, Hannah Mugambi and some other people. I’ve been to Remi Educational Foundation a lot of times (Thanks to our wonderful community service initiative) and I know what they happens there. I’m glad to you got to eat Suya although its better you buy it from the people who barbeque it directly (not the ones who carry it in a basket). Good luck in your Research and I hope you come to Nigeria again.

    You can email me with any questions here adonye.jaja@aun.edu.ng.

    By the way, you can check out Harvey and Jessica Pine’s blog here: http://thetravelingpines.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

